Scense Administrator Guide

  1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Scense Administrator Guid...
  4. Bring Your Own Computer
  5. Unmanaged Mode

Unmanaged Mode

To support and service computers that are not joined to the corporate domain Scense offers the Unmanaged Mode. In this context ‘Unmanaged’ means that the computer is not managed by the IT department, but rather it’s managed by the end-user.
In most cases this situation involves hardware of which the end-user is the owner.
As it is more and more accepted and encouraged that e.g. employees and students bring their own computer to the workplace or school
This Unmanaged Mode is automatically invoked when the Scense Client is started on a workstation by a local user (non-domain user).

Scense Client

Scense Client will immediately detect whether or not the user has logged on with a domain account.
If the user is not logged on with a domain account, Scense Client will invoke the unmanaged mode and pops up a logon window.

In this logon window the user should enter the domain credentials, so Scense can relate the locally logged on user to a domain account.
This domain account mapping is necessary for Scense (and the administrator) to be able to manage the user’s environment and applications.
The various check boxes allow the user to choose whether or not Scense Client should remember the users credentials and to what level.

The user can also determine whether or not the Scense Client should be started directly after logon. The credentials are sent to the Scense server and validated to the domain.
If the credentials prove to be valid, the Scense Client will continue executing the logon script.

During this session Scense Client will impersonate the domain user that has been validated to the domain.

The locally logged on user must be a local administrator.
This is necessary because the Scense OnDemand service is not being used in the unmanaged mode and all installations and settings are done by the logged on user.

When the Scense Client in unmanaged mode is closed (by clicking the [Close] button), all network connections (incl. printers) that were connected by the Scense Client during the session will be disconnected.

Notice

The administrator must be aware that the actual logged on user is the local user on the workstation, NOT the domain user for which the credentials have been provided.
So, there might be some Criteria used in Scopes that cannot be evaluated by the user (because they need domain access)